Created in 2001 as a scientific interest group (GIS), IDDRI has been recognized as a Foundation of public interest since 2009.

IDDRI’s programmes are determined by transparent decision-making processes subject to collective deliberation by IDDRI’s governance bodies (Board, Advisory Council and Scientific Council).


IDDRI’s board, chaired by Jean Jouzel, is composed of 15 administrators that are organized into 3 constituencies, under the supervision of a government commissioner who ensures that IDDRI maintains its public interest dimension. 

Founding members 
(EDF, EpE, GDF Suez, Lafarge, Saint-Gobain, Veolia)

Ex officio members

  • Mihoub Mezouaghi (AFD)
  • Michel Eddi (CIRAD)
  • François Moisan (ADEME)
  • Stéphanie Thiébault (CNRS)
  • Jean-François Soussana (INRA)

Qualified persons


A government’s commissioner, designated by the Ministry of Interior, attends the board’s working sessions with an advisory status. He sees that the foundation’s statutes and the public interest dimension of its activity are guaranteed.


This multidisciplinary council ensures the monitoring of emerging scientific issues to guide the work of the teams and to support the board in identifying new areas of research. Claude Henry chairs the council, which meets once a year.

IDDRI’s scientific council is composed of 15 members:


This council’s objective is to discuss IDDRI’s key issues to steer the activities of the Foundation and to guarantee its political relevance. It is chaired by Daniel Lebègue and meets two to three times per year for half a day, to discuss the specific themes on which IDDRI is working or is planning to work.

The advisory council is composed of at least 21 members, representing the different stakeholders in society.


  • Martin Bortzmeyer (Ministry of Environment, Energy and the Sea)
  • Audrey Coreau (Agence française de la biodiversité) 
  • Philippe Orliange (AFD) 

Research institutes and universities

  • Céline Charveriat (Institute for European Environmental Policies)
  • Pierre Ducret (Institute for Climate Economics, I4CE)
  • Franck Lecocq (Center for International Research on Environment and Development, CIRED)
  • Adolf Kloke Lesch (German Development Institute)
  • Hervé Le Treut (IPSL)
  • Maria José Sanz (Basque Center for Climate Change)
  • Simon Maxwell (European Think Tank Group)
  • Patrick Plane (Centre for Studies and Research on International Development CERDI)
  • Achim Steiner (Oxford Martin School)

Private sector

  • Bertrand Badré (Blue Orange Capital)
  • Carmen Becerril (Bloomberg New Energy Finance)
  • Thomas Becker (PHOTOCAT)
  • Nicolas Blanc (Caisse des Dépôts Group, CDC)
  • Bernard Carayon (AMUNDI)
  • Jean-Christophe Laugée (DANONE)
  • Luis Neves (Deutsche Telekom Group)
  • Emmanuel Normant (SAINT GOBAIN)
  • François Pistre (RENAULT)
  • Alice Steenland (AXA)

Development actors, trade unions, civil society representatives

  • Marie-Claire Cailletaud, (CGT)
  • Pascal Canfin (WWF France)
  • Denez L’Hostis, (France Nature Environnement)
  • Béatrice Néré (Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation)
  • Pierre Perbos (Réseau Action Climat)
  • Alison Tate (International Trade Union Confederation)

Local authorities

  • Jérôme Bignon, Senator of the Somme department
  • Célia Blauel, Deputy Mayor of Paris
  • Sabine Buis, Deputy of the Ardèche department
  • Chantal Jouanno, Senator of Paris, Vice President of the Region Ile-de-France