“Because the Ocean” declaration

For the first time in Paris this week 22 countries have raised prominently the Ocean at a Climate COP, indicating that we are ready to enter a new era of climate action that includes the planet’s blue part which represents 75% of the Earth’s surface. The ocean absorbs 25% of CO2 emissions and 90% of the heat associated with climate change, recognition and inclusion in the climate debate is long overdue.


By supporting the Because the Ocean declaration (see opposite downloadable versions of declarations) , 22 States* have agreed to work on three concrete and common objectives:

  • A Special Report on the Ocean by the IPCC;
  • The UN Ocean SDG Conference in Fiji in June 2017;
  • The elaboration of an ocean action plan under the UNFCCC.

    This initiative was supported by IDDRI, in partnership with the Chilean Foreign Affairs Ministry, the French Ministry of Ecology, the Global Ocean Commission and Tara Expeditions.
  © Kashfi Halford

  © Kashfi Halford
When several years ago I was Secretary of State for the Environment in my country, Spain, I was bemused to see how little people working on ocean conservation and people working on climate resilience were speaking to each other. Thanks to this declaration, I am glad to see that the silos that have separated the ocean and climate communities have started to disappear”, said Teresa Ribera, Director of IDDRI. 
See the video of "Because the Ocean" declaration :

*Declaration signatories include:

1.    Aruba, Oslin B. Sevinger, Minister of Regional Planning, Infrastructure and Integration
2.    Australia, Kelly Pearce, Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
3.    Canada, Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Climate Change
4.    Chile, Heraldo Muñoz, Minister of Foreign Affairs
5.    Columbia Pablo Viera, Vice Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development
6.    Costa Rica, Edgar Gutiérrez, Minister of Environment and Energy
7.    Dominican Republic, Zoila Gonzalez de Gutierrez, Vice-minister of Environmental Management
8.    Fiji, Inia Seruiratu, Minister for Agriculture, Rural and Maritime Development and National Disaster Management
9.    France, Ségolène Royal, Minister of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy 
10.    Guinea-Bissau, Barros Bacar Banjai, State Secretary for the Environment
11.    Kiribati, Anote Tong, President
12.    Madagascar, Ralava Beboarimisa, Ministry of Environment, Ecology, Sea and Forest
13.    Mexico, Dra. Amparo Martínez Arroyo, Director General, National Institute of Ecology and Climate Change
14.    Monaco, HSH Prince Albert II 
15.    Morocco, Hakima El Haité, Delegate Minister in charge of Environment
16.    Netherlands, Hans Hoogeveen, Vice-Minister for Agriculture
17.    New Zealand, Rebekah Riley, Deputy Permanent Representative, Delegation to the OECD
18.    Palau, Tommy Remengesau, President
19.    Senegal, Mariline Diara, Director of Environment and Classified Establishments, Ministry of Environment and Sustainable Development
20.    Seychelles, Didier Dogley, Minister of Environment, Energy and Climate Change
21.    Spain, Valvanera Ulargui Aparicio, General Director of the Climate Change Office, Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Environment
22.    Sweden, Isabella Lövin, Minister for International Development Cooperation




Friday, December 4, 2015
(Akima El Haite, Minister of Environment, Morocco  - Ravala Beboarimisa, Minister for Environment, Seas and Forests, Madagascar - Dr. Hans Hoogeveen, Vice-Minister of Agriculture, The Netherlands - Valvanera Ulargui, Climate Change Office Director, Spain)